Make a Gift

Non-Discrim- ination Policy

Text-only site

UC Berkeley

Home > News > In the News... > 2004     
Miller Members In the News - 2004
  • December 6, 2004: Former Miller Professor Shiing-Shen Chern has passed away at the age of 93. A lengthy article about him and his research has been published on the UC Berkeley News website.
  • November 27, 2004: Miller Fellow Alex Thompson published an article on climate change in the New Zealand Herald. To read the article, please click here.
  • November 9, 2004: Former Miller Professor Eugene E. Haller, has been named a fellow of the American Association for Advancement of Science, "for the development of ultrapure semiconductors, including isotopically pure materials, and for the investigation of their physical and electronic properties and their device applications."
  • October 27, 2004: An article was written in Popular Science Magazine about Former Miller Fellow Sheila Patek's research, highlighting her as one of their "Brilliant 10" scientists. To read the article, please click here. Her research was also reported on in the San Francisco Chronicle, which can be read here.
  • October 18, 2004: An article was written in this month's issue of National Geographic about Miller Fellow Mark Hauber's research on cowbirds. To read the article, please click here.
  • October 12, 2004: Executive Committee Member David Chandler has been awarded the 2005 Langmuir Award by the American Physical Society. This award is made in recognition of outstanding interdisciplinary research in chemistry and physics, in the spirit of Irving Langmuir. The award consists of $10,000 and a certificate.
  • September 30, 2004: Former Miller Professor Richard Saykally was one of seven winners of the 2004 E.O. Lawrence Award announced by Secretary of Energy Spencer Abraham. Professor Saykally is receiving the award in the chemistry category for his invention of new methods to study the structure of molecular ions.
  • September 20, 2004: Miller Fellow Yi Cui has been named one of the awardees of the Top Young Innovator Award for his work in nanotechnology. More information about his research can be found in the Nanotechnology section of Technology Review's article.
  • September 20, 2004: Former Miller Professor Garrison Sposito has been selected to receive the Horton Medal -- which recognizes outstanding contributions to the geophysical aspects of hydrology -- from the American Geophysical Union (AGU), the world's largest society of earth scientists. For more information, please see the article in The Berkeleyan.
  • September 17, 2004: Former Miller Professor Jeremy Thorner has been awarded the 2004 Award for Distinguished Research Mentoring of Undergraduates in the Biological Sciences from the College of Letters and Science.
  • September 2, 2004: Former Visiting Miller Professor Stephen Leone, professor of chemistry and director of Chemical Dynamics Beamline (LBNL) will be presented with the Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry by the American Chemical Society.
  • September 2, 2004: Former Miller Professor Paul Alivisatos, professor of chemistry, will be presented with the American Chemical Society award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry.
  • September 2, 2004: Former Miller Professor Jeremy Thorner, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, was named as a recipient of a 2004 award from the Faculty Research Fund for the Biological Sciences for Odyssey Infrared Imaging System.
  • September 2, 2004: Former Miller Fellow Matt Francis received an award from the Hellman Family Faculty Fund for Chemistry: Modified Viral Capsids as Targeted Delivery Vectors for Anticancer Agents. The purpose of the fund is to support assistant professors who show promise and the potential for distinction in their area of research. As in previous years, awards are made without regard to timeliness or popularity of the field of study. Excellence in the proposed research is the primary criterion for selection.
  • August 31, 2004: Miller Professor Alex Filippenko will be awarded the 2004 Carl Sagan Prize for Science Popularization by the Trustees of Wonderfest, the Bay Area Festival of Science. For more information on this award, click here.
  • August 30, 2004: Former Visiting Miller Professor Manuel Cardona has been awarded the Blaise Pascal Medal by the European Academy of Sciences and the Matteucci Medal by the Italian National Academy of Sciences.
  • August 10, 2004: There was an article in the New York Times featuring Miller Fellow Mark Hauber's research on brown-headed cowbirds. To read the article, click here.
  • July 16, 2004: Former Miller Fellow Michael Manga's research on volcanoes was featured on the UC Berkeley Science Matters website. The full story is located here.
  • April 21, 2004: Miller Fellow Sheila Patek's research on mantis shrimp was highlighted on the UC Berkeley News website. For the full story, please click here.
About | Fellowships | Professorships | Visiting Professorships | Senior Fellowships | People
News | Publications | Lunches, Symposia & Other Events | Contact Us

© 2004-2014 University of California, Berkeley
All Rights Reserved.